Mo’Nique Wins Golden Globe for Best Supporting Actress in a Film; Becomes Automatic Front Runner to Win the Oscar

And dang, didn’t she look good? Remind me when it’s time for my Best Screenwriter Award nomination to wear Reem Acra.

From The Daily Voice:

In one of the most moving moments on stage Sunday night, Mo’Nique stirred the audience with her unrehearsed acceptance speech, invoking her husband Sidney Hicks. “I’m shaking,” she said. “And when I tell y’all I am in the midst of my dream, and when I look into the eyes of the man that I stood next to at 14 years old and I said to him, ‘One day, we are going to be stars.’ And he said, ‘You first.’ And we walked this red carpet together tonight. Sidney, I love you more than you will ever know, baby.”

Asked about the Oscar buzz, Mo’Nique said she was “excited” and reminded herself of the little girl in the mirror with a towel wrapped around her head. “All of us are nothing but kids in here with grown up faces living out our dreams,” she said.

Asked what advice she would give to young people, she said: “Dream the impossible dream. And don’t believe the sky is the limit. Go above it.”

Well, what are you waiting for?

~ by blksista on January 18, 2010.

One Response to “Mo’Nique Wins Golden Globe for Best Supporting Actress in a Film; Becomes Automatic Front Runner to Win the Oscar”

  1. I am so glad Monique won the nomination. When several of the movie critics were asked to make their predictions, I was surprised to see that she was not among them. I said to myself, who could have possibly did a better job than Monique. That part was made for her!

    Like

Comments are closed.

 
