Saturday Night Music, March 20, 2010: Dazz Band, “Let It Whip” (Six Minute Version) 1982

Going back to the Eighties, and big hair music for the first night of spring. Some late Motown Sound from the Dazz Band from Cleveland, Ohio.

My favorite lines are probably your favorite lines, and of course, they’re at the bridge. Songwriters Reggie Andrews and Leon ‘Ndugu’ Chancler laid it down, so to speak.

Can’t you see that I
(I won’t waste your time)
I won’t waste your time
(I sense something divine in you)
Something divine in you
(Yes I do)
Oooh-hoo

That’s what all the boys say when they want to get down with you. Just about anything.

I liked this version, but as one of the You Tube responders complained, the camera mic this cat is using is killing the bass. It seems to be all going into the left speaker. Plus, as Wiki relates, the band was using a percolating drum machine rhythm beneath the live drums, along with a Mini Moog bass line for 1982. It’s rather interesting when you turn it up.

There’s also some kind of surprise connected with this recording, too. Not sure what it is, but I’m sure it wasn’t purposely done, and it’s at the conclusion. Wiki again:

“Let It Whip” is a 1982 hit single by the Dazz Band, arguably their biggest hit, peaking at number one on the R&B chart for five non-consecutive weeks. The single also reached number two on the Dance chart and number five on the Billboard Hot 100 chart. The song won the Grammy Award for Best R&B Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocals in 1983.

I hear this song’s also highlighted on video games like Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas and Scarface.

Nevertheless, it’s still a good song with which to dance!

Enjoy.

~ by blksista on March 20, 2010.

 
