Friday Night Music, March 25, 2010: The Gap Band, “Yearning for Your Love,” 1981

A little Quiet Storm for yall, from the guys who named themselves after Tulsa, OK’s destroyed Black Wall Street area streets.

This is one of my favorite songs from this decade. I remember who it was I was thinking of when I heard this song. Ronnie Wilson wrote it with Oliver Scott and dedicated it to his current wife. But it was Ronnie’s brother, Charlie’s lead baritone that influenced this funk ballad, which also inspired other contemporary singers like Johnny Gill, Gerald Levert, and R. Kelly.

“Yearning for Your Love” came from The Gap Band’s fifth album, The Gap Band III on Mercury Records. It reached No. 60 on the Billboard Top 100, and rose to No. 5 on the Hot Soul Singles chart. The Gap Band III album also went platinum on lyrics like this.

The time has come for us to stop messin’ around
‘Cause don’t you know that I like havin’ you around
In my life
Oh, baby

So many times I want to hold you, oh, so near
I want to say I love you softly in your ear
Oh, baby
Don’t keep running

My heart is yearning for your love
‘Cause my heart is yearning for your love

You can’t keep runnin’ in and out of my life
I need to have you as my lover and my wife
Oh, baby
Be my lover

So many times I need to have you by my side
To be my friend, my lover and my guide
Oh, baby
Don’t keep runnin’

My heart is yearning for your love
My heart is yearning for your love

My heart is yearning for you
Let me inside your love
Whoa…my heart is yearning for you
Let me inside your love
Your only

(Keep runnin’)

(Keep runnin’)
You can’t keep runnin’ in and out of my life
(Keep runnin’)
You can’t keep runnin’ in and out of my life

(Keep on runnin’)
You can’t keep runnin’ in and out of my life
(Keep runnin’)
You can’t keep runnin’ in and out of my life

Charlie, Robert, and Ronnie Wilson

The Gap Band: Charlie, Robert, and Ronnie Wilson (Courtesy: ILoveThatSong.com)

And on and on…

What’s happening with The Gap Band these days? Their appeal may have faded by the mid-Eighties, but they continue to record, individually or together, and to tour on some oldies but goldies circuit.

[…] Brother Charlie ventured into a solo career during a break from the group in the mid-1980s, and was featured on the 1985 hit with funk group Zapp titled “Computer Love.” Wilson’s powerful vocals were credited in part for establishing the careers of Guy’s Aaron Hall, Keith Sweat, and R. Kelly. The band reunited in 1996, and issued The Gap Band: Live and Well, a live greatest hits album.

Since the 1990s, many of The Gap Band hits have been sampled and covered by the likes of Nas, Snoop Dogg, Warren G., Jermaine Dupri, Da Brat, Notorious B.I.G., II D Extreme, Blackstreet, Shaquille O’Neal, Mia X, and Mary J. Blige. “Outstanding” was even sampled for a famous 1990s commercial for malt liquor. Musicians inspired by The Gap Band include R. Kelly, Keith Sweat, Ruff Endz, Guy, Blackstreet, II D Extreme, Mint Condition, Jagged Edge, D’Extra Wiley, and Aaron Hall. Recently, “You Dropped a Bomb on Me” was featured in the hit videogame Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas, and playing on funk radio station Bounce FM.

In mid-2005, Charlie released his third solo album, Charlie, Last Name Wilson, which was produced by R. Kelly.

On August 8, 2006, Hip-O Records released Gold, a 2-CD compilation from The Gap Band.

~ by blksista on March 26, 2010.

 
