“Babies” Opens in Time for Mother’s Day. See It. See Yourself.

Well, it appears that I am too tired to do “Friday Night Music,” but I thought I would end on a positive note with something that I saw on the CBS Evening News tonight.

It’s this film, Babies.
Vodpod videos no longer available.
When I saw the trailer, I thought. Yep. We all were like that before. A long, long time ago.

This is not baby worship in my view. To me, babies always mean new beginnings. Whenever I’ve turned up an ace card doing Tarot readings for a woman, I tell her either that she’s about to step off into something new or she’s contemplating a child or a child may come into her future.

Here is the featurette that explains the filmmakers’ raison d’etre:
Vodpod videos no longer available.
It seems a quiet, mellow film that could probably help you to appreciate your own little life, and the lives of your loved ones a bit more.

Four babies. One Namibian, Ponijiao. One white American, Hattie. One Mongolian, Bayar. One Japanese, Mari. One boy. Three girls. Two in underdeveloped countries: Namibia and Mongolia. Two in developed countries: Japan and the United States. No narration. No judgment. The camera tells their special stories while growing from infancy until they start walking. One year in their lives.

From the same people who brought you March of the Penguins.

It’s been a wonderful week. Thank you for coming to This Black Sista’s Page. See you tomorrow.

Bookmark and Share

~ by blksista on May 7, 2010.

2 Responses to ““Babies” Opens in Time for Mother’s Day. See It. See Yourself.”

  1. I saw this film today. The shots were beautifully filmed and the women extremely admirable. I couldn’t imagine raising a child myself, even in a country in which I had all the privileges that could possibly be offered. The women of Africa and Asia were simply amazing and inspiring.

    Like

  2. I saw an advanced screening of this movie yesterday, and it is great! The cinematography was great, and they managed to capture so many beautiful moments.

    Like

Comments are closed.

 
