Coco at Google Hdqtrs: Conan O’Brien and Andy Richter, May 5

I can blow hot and cold with Conan. I liked his old show better. I thought that he didn’t belong on The Tonight Show in the first place. He just needed his own late night show. Well, now he’s got it.

I felt sorry for the guy on Sixty Minutes. As sorry as I could get for someone with a severance package of a gazillion buckos, understand. He ain’t struggling financially. This is about creative viability in doing the work he likes to do. And until the tour that he did recently, he’d never done stand-up. He started out as a writer.

Let’s face it: I read that Leno was making noises that he didn’t want to leave near the end, but he had to; he had already committed himself. It’ll take a fatal coronary to pry Leno’s hands off The Tonight Show. This guy plays hard, HARD ball.

Eventually I’ll check out Conan one of these days on his new TBS show. In the meantime, check out this new stuff…

Bookmark and Share

~ by blksista on May 11, 2010.

 
