Details of a “Celebration of (the) Life” of Catfish Collins


(This was a tribute to James Brown concert with Bootsy, Catfish, Fred Wesley and ‘nem.)

Cincinnati.com reported the following today:

A celebration of the life of Phelps “Catfish” Collins, the influential funk rhythm guitarist and older brother of funk bassist Bootsy Collins, has been scheduled for 8 p.m. Sept. 4 at the Madison Theater, 730 Madison Ave., Covington.

A Cincinnati native who played in James Brown’s backing band, Parliament-Funkadelic and Bootsy’s Rubber Band, Catfish Collins died Aug. 6 after battling cancer. He was 66. The Madison Theater was the last place he played live, during a James Brown tribute in 2007.

Details of the event are forthcoming, but it will be free in keeping with Catfish’s wishes, according to his brother.

Bootsy Collins said in an e-mail to friends: “Catfish would always say, ‘When I go, I don’t want anybody preaching or saying a prayer over me and crying, just celebrate my life the way I celebrated my life, having fun and bringing the joy. I want to have a live band, comedians, dancers, singers, poets and people that don’t get a chance to be heard or seen on stage. I want to be roasted, toasted and people drinking and having a good time in my name, no other name but The Catfish.'”

This promises to be a jam-what-am.

More information is said to be at Bootsy’s website:

You’re invited to join me, Bootsy Collins, and “The Catfish Nation,” to celebrate the CATFISH LIFE, ONE SMILE AT A TIME!

It all takes place at the Madison Theater Sept. 4th 8pm til 2am 730 Madison Ave. Covington, Kentucky.

Catfish motto was: If it’s free it’s for me, so yeah, it’s FREE to everyone.

We have opened a “Catfish Musicians’ Fund” that will be set up to help unfortunate musicians that fall on bad times and can not afford their own burial.

So we are asking the ones that can to donate to this cause. You can email us at: bootsycf7@gmail.com for more details.

Bookmark and Share

~ by blksista on August 11, 2010.

2 Responses to “Details of a “Celebration of (the) Life” of Catfish Collins”

  1. MY husband had a few gigs with James Brown. I’m going to pass this article to him.

    Thank and may he R.I.P.

    Like

Comments are closed.

 
