The “For Colored Girls” Trailer From Tyler Perry: It May Have You Wishing for a Revival of the Broadway Play

Um, I think I’m with Gina The Blogmother over at What About Our Daughters. I don’t think I’m going to miss going to see the first-run film version of For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide When the Rainbow is Enuf. Hey, I saw the play when it was touring, and wasn’t unduly affected by it. But the power of the image is something totally different than a live show. Trust.

Maybe that’s what Ntozake wanted to hammer home for us. Because a play ain’t nothing but a foundation for a film. And this time, there are no Ladies in Colors; the colors are ostensibly in the characters, and they’ve been given actual women’s names.

It’s going to be too depressing, like Precious, and I’ve resisted going to see it and to even rent the DVD. One has to be in a certain frame of mind to watch films like this, and I already have got enough on my mind to take a one-way trip out of my sixth-floor window. (But I won’t, but you know what I mean.) It’s movies like this that made me see Platoon during the afternoon for my own self-protection, and even then, I had to walk around downtown Palo Alto to get all of that blood/explosions/fire/screams out of my system before I could sit down and be a human being and have dinner.

To see black women going through so much, even in a two-hour film, only to get a hugfest at the end? Healing takes a lot longer than that.

But don’t take my word for it. I’m just going to see it later.

I wonder if the little black girl who discovered Toussaint L’Ouverture will be in it…

~ by blksista on September 15, 2010.

 
