Playwright Ntozake Shange Talks about Tyler Perry and “For Colored Girls”

Checking back through my unread mail to find this interview from The Root. It’s being conducted by Harriette Cole, also a writer, at Ntozake (en-toh-zah-kee) Shange’s home in Bed-Stuy, Brooklyn,  New York.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

I note that she doesn’t necessarily love Madea, Perry’s notorious comic alter-ego. Otherwise, enjoy this ten-minute interview, which also includes a discussion about her newest work, Some Sing, Some Cry, a collaboration with her sister, Ifa Bayeza.

I’m glad that Shange is back. I’d often wondered what was up with her over the years, but hearing about the strokes saddened me. There is still a slight slur in her voice, but she’s still here, body and soul, fighting.

And she said in the Washington Post that there was more to the play, and she may bring those items out at a later date in another play.

~ by blksista on October 12, 2010.

5 Responses to “Playwright Ntozake Shange Talks about Tyler Perry and “For Colored Girls””

  1. AMAZING!! Poetic Response to Film.

    Like

  2. I was impressed with the interview…love this site

    Like

    • Thank you. This is from The Root, Henry Louis Gates’ foray into the Web. They do have standards.

      Like

  3. I am very curious to see what TP did with her play. I find him completely clueless when he attempts to translate the female experience to film. All of his female characters come out as caricatures. I doubt I will spend money at the theater but will wait until the dvd. BTW, the woman conducting the interview looks nothing like the woman in the link.

    Like

    • She looks heavier and older in the interview; otherwise, this is what Zemanta fetched up. The hairstyle is the same, though.

      I dunno…as far as I’m concerned, Shange’s make-up looks pasty and weird to me. No matter. I was more interested in what she had to say.

      Like

Comments are closed.

 
