Aretha Says She Didn’t Have Gastric Bypass Surgery, But STILL Doesn’t Say What The Surgery Was About

Aretha during her latest interview. Nice hair, even if it isn't hers (Courtesy: Access Hollywood)

Girl, now I know you are lying. I simply don’t believe you, and I really think this series of interviews–first with Wendy Williams and now with Access Hollywood–do not serve you well. Yes, people want to see how you are, and I am sure you are milking the publicity for all it’s worth for your grand tour later this year. However, nobody could drop that much weight in so short a time without something like this kind of surgery, and I believe the medical observers. I believe she had the band. Not even heart bypass surgery would engender this kind of rapid weight loss.

And there is no shame in saying that you had it, either. Tell the truth and get it over with, and I’ll be happy if I am wrong. All I am saying is, you better not eat your way back up again because that would be a death sentence. From People:

Surgery helped Aretha Franklin lose 85 lbs. – just not that surgery.

That’s the story the Queen of Soul’s sticking to as she once again shoots down rumors about her health, this time the theory that she underwent gastric bypass surgery to drop weight.

“Definitely not – and would not,” Franklin, 68, tells Access Hollywood in a two-part interview to air Monday and Tuesday. “I heard that [rumor]. I said, ‘That is crazy.’ ”

Since undergoing a mysterious surgical procedure in December for reasons she refuses to reveal, Franklin’s health and weight loss have been much-buzzed-about topics. In January, she said she was “not going to even deal with” rumors that she had pancreatic cancer.

She did, however, offer a small clue about that surgery, saying that the weight came off “from the surgery that I had,” although she did not specify the procedure.

“But it definitely was not the bariatric or, what is it, gastric by- – Yeah, I can’t even tell you the correct name of it,” she says, adding, “It’s really not necessary to talk about one’s personal medical [health].”

Yeah, right. I think that this is plain, unadulterated vanity speaking, but that’s alright, Miss Re. It’s no secret to me. If you’re embarrassed about the fact that you needed help to lose the weight (instead of leaving it all to the divine) or else it would indeed kill you, there ain’t no shame about that. In fact, you might find even add more fans to your kingdom rather than being coy, fronting off, changing the subject and claiming privacy.

If anyone else has any other ideas what might have engendered this rapid weight loss, I’d be willing to check the alternatives.  Otherwise, I am glad she’s still on this earth, and looking better than ever.

~ by blksista on March 11, 2011.

 
