Happy Birthday to Me, Happy Birthday to You

Yep, that time has come around again, and I’m going to make it special.

Why not let my boys from The Sixties explain it all to you?

I had a friend in college who shared the same birthday, and at times, we would go out and have an obscenely delicious dessert or something, and ponder our accidents of birth.  But only for a hot minute.  Too much to laugh about.

However, the older I have gotten, the more I have checked out what Stevie Wonder once sung in “As.”

We all know sometimes life’s hates and troubles
Can make you wish you were born in another time and space
But you can bet you life times that and twice its double
That God knew exactly where he wanted you to be placed
so make sure when you say you’re in it but not of it
You’re not helping to make this earth a place sometimes called Hell
Change your words into truths and then change that truth into love
And maybe our children’s grandchildren
And their great-great grandchildren will tell

It’s no accident that Herbie Hancock was playing on that particular cut from Songs in the Key of Life.  And I am very happy to be here, and hopefully, not contributing to a hell on earth.

I’m also going to make time and watch that super moon that’s rising tonight. It’s supposed to be the biggest full moon in 18 years. And all on my day.

If today’s your birthday, my best wishes on your day, too.

~ by blksista on March 19, 2011.

2 Responses to “Happy Birthday to Me, Happy Birthday to You”

  1. Happy BDay Black Sista, I hope your day was enjoyed and memorable for you. My only brother was born on March 8th and is no longer with us and left too soon. So live for today, tomorrow’s not promised.

    Like

  2. Happy Birthday Black Sista from another Black Sista who celebrated her birthday on March 3, 2011. Hope you’re having a spectacular day…and yes, still waters do run deep.

    Like

Comments are closed.

 
