I’m Going to Watch the Funeral Like You Will Be, and Doing the Laundry, Too

Found a link from US Stream.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

And if you’ve forgotten, the link is here at http://www.livestream.com/aplive.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

CNN, ABC, and several other networks will also be covering the three-hour ceremony as well. A lotta lines will be connected to that one AP wire. The CNN feed has already begun showing the participants arriving, but there is no sound, at least on my end.

Aretha Franklin, it is being reported, is not going to be present at the funeral.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

And above, Whitney’s body has arrived at the New Hope Baptist Church for her funeral that will begin in a couple of hours.

Though I am Buddhist, I still enjoy the singing. That comes from my early, mixed upbringing in both Protestant and Catholic Christianity in the black community. However, the addition of T.D. Jakes (if not the Winanses) to the line-up of eulogizers does not fill me with anticipation. I have to hear—and not hear—certain things that no longer apply to me, things that make me shake my head and talk back to the TV, as I wish to celebrate this woman’s life and achievements as well as mourn her passing.

As a Nichiren Buddhist, I have a different take on what could have been done for and with Whitney Houston to save her own life. Whitney Houston could have changed the trajectory of her life, but unfortunately for her and for us, she didn’t. No, I don’t accept the fatalism of some family and close friends of hers that it was meant to be, that “no one is to blame,” that she did whatever she wanted to do, that she accepted full responsibility for her actions.  No, I believe that she was impaired; I think that she kept going off that precipice.  I also think that she was also going through the vagaries of middle-age, and thinking that she could still be young and bullet-proof.  Human life is fragile as well as intense, and to paraphrase Joni Mitchell’s song, we don’t know what wealth, what gold we possess until it is gone.

I also believe that Whitney was a real, wonderful, special woman in her own way.  I can only hope that she meets The Gohonzon in her next lifetime, and will be thus equipped to save it at a crucial moment. Nam-myoho-renge-kyo.

~ by blksista on February 18, 2012.

 
