Trying to Finish This Long Post on Trayvon

Some of the participants at the Million Hoodies March in Union Square, New York City, last week (Courtesy: Sandra Rose)

I am working now, I am happy to say.  But it’s only temporary.

In between, I am reading and writing about the Trayvon Martin case (nearly 6,000 words now), and about the conclusions of the Whitney Houston autopsy and toxicology report.   And I will also talk about the death of Shaima Alawadi, the 29-year-old mother of five who was beaten to death in her own home in Southern California because she was an Iraqi and a Muslim woman and an immigrant.  Her assailant has not yet been found and arrested. 

During my working day, I have no access to e-mail and to a computer.  Even if I did, I could not use the computer for personal matters.  To do so is to invite termination, and I cannot afford that.

So by the time I get home, I eat, I pray and then I am tired.  And I write a little more.  Believe me, I am trying.

I think about poor Trayvon and his last few moments of life, and then I think of his parents and family members still with us.  This story is so horrible, and it is bound to get worse because the powers that be know they are wrong.  And like a wounded rattlesnake, they will keep striking out even though it’s already over.  They will use the weakest, most transparent and foulest excuses imaginable to show that Trayvon was a thug, a drug dealer, an addict and a hood who deserved his death at the hands of this contemptible, fearful waste of breath whose story, it turns out, was not that believable to detectives the night he was killed.    Trayvon was simply a young black man full of dreams and potential and who just wanted to live and enjoy his life.  Trayvon was not perfect;  but he was as perfect as an American boy could be at this day and age.

I chant for Trayvon’s life because it was not in vain.  The country seems to have woken up.  Many, many people are not fooled, be they white, black or purple.   They know a smear campaign when they see it.  They are supporting  his parents in spirit if not at rallies and vigils and marches, online and on progressive talk radio and on cable.   People are with them.  I am with them.  I will not forget him.  See you soon.

~ by blksista on March 28, 2012.

 
